Moods (1975)

Photo: Steven Pisano

Choreography: Anna Sokolow
Music: György Ligeti
7 dancers, 14 minutes

“Moods” is a intense, poetic, artistically challenging work set to the Gyorgyi Ligeti’s “10 Pieces for Wind Quintet.” The work is a journey through inner states, serene to violent, from exuberant to crushed, from struggle to acceptance.

“This tradition is unabashedly concerned with expressing emotion through movement, and in this area Miss Sokolow is a champion….“Moods” has a deep integrity.”

Anna Kisselgoff
The New York Times, 1975