Dreams (1961)

Choreography: Anna Sokolow
Music: Johann Sebastian Bach, Anton von Webern, Teo Macero
6 or more dancers, 1 young child, 40 minutes

Sokolow’s signature piece “Dreams” reveals the unseen realm where feelings give birth to strange visions: where one runs without escaping, reaches without touching, and acts without feeling.

“Sokolow’s nightmarish threnody on the Nazi Holocaust proves in its Kafkaesque namelessness as profoundly horrifying as ever. There is a glory and sacrifice in this pain…some unlikely triumph of the human spirit.”

Clive Barnes,
New York Post, 1995