Merce Cunningham Studio Concert 2009

Dreams and Other Dances

April 23 – April 26, 2009

The Sokolow Ensemble returned to the Merce Cunningham Studio with a season that included Anna Sokolow’s lyical BALLADE to the piano preludes of Scriabin, and her masterpiece DREAMS, depicting her haunting nightmares of the Holocaust. Also on the program …ON A DARKLING PLAIN, an illuminating women’s trio by guest choreographer Andrew Jannetti to music by Grammy Award-winning composer Marty Beller. Jim May performed a compelling solo to a Rachmaninoff prelude.

American Masterpieces
American Masterpieces

The reconstruction of DREAMS was made possible with a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.